Kanban for Chrome
More About Kanban
* Backlog: tasks that are defined but work has not started yet;
* Blocked: tasks on which work cannot continue due to hard dependencies on other tasks;
* In progress: tasks for which work has started;
* Completed: tasks that have been completed.
The typical workflow is to add a new task to the backlog, promote it to in progress when you start working on it, and finally promote it to completed once it is done. You should mark tasks as blocked if you have to wait for another event before continuing work (e.g. waiting for a reply, or for something to be fixed before work can carry on).
Each category is shown as a column in a table. You can create a new task by clicking the empty space in the desired column. You can also create a new task by pressing Alt+n when the page has keyboard focus.
To edit the text of a task, simply click it. You can jump between tasks by clicking the desired one or by pressing Tab or Shift+Tab.
To move a task a column to the right, press Alt+k; to move it to the left, press Alt+j.
To change the color of a task, press one of Alt+0 (default color), Alt+1 (green), Alt+2 (blue), Alt+3 (red), Alt+4 (purple).
The web search box is no longer visible on the new tab page. You can type your query instead in the Chrome address bar box; you can jump there from the keyboard using Ctrl+L.
This may seem an odd decision, but it forces me to keep my TODO list up-to-date, as it is shown to me every time I open a new tab. Othwerise, I am often not motivated enough to keep my TODO list in sync with my work, which makes it almost useless. On top of that, being shown the TODO list every time I want to browse the web has a mild anti-procrastination effect.
The extension stores all data in the browser local storage. It does not upload any of your data to the Internet. In fact, it does not make any requests whatsoever to the Internet.
As far as I know, the browser does not attempt to sync via your profile any data stored in local storage. As a side effect, your TODO list cannot be synced automatically between computers. An opt-in option (off by default) for profile sync support may be added in a future version.